In California, the laws regarding driving under the influence are very strict. If you are 21 years old and your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is over .08% you may be arrested for driving under the influence. The legal limit for individuals under the age of 21 is .01% and if caught driving while intoxicated, the consequences are severe.
For a first DUI offense in California the penalties may include:
- A jail sentence of up to six months
- A fine between $390-$1,000
- License suspension for six months
- DUI program for up to nine months
- Reinstatement fee of $125 for your driver’s license
- File proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
We recently had a client who was charged with a DUI in California for having a
BAC of .21 when given a blood test. The District Attorney made an offer to him which entailed 15 days in jail along with a nine month DUI class. Our experienced
Sacramento DUI lawyers filed a motion to suppress for our client because the law enforcement unlawfully obtained a blood test without obtaining a warrant first. The District Attorney then had to change the offer for our client and he was then offered a wet and reckless charge and did not have to spend any time in jail. The offer entailed a $145 fine with a 12 hour DUI class. When looking at the general penalties for a first offense DUI in California, this offer is a victory for our client.
Do you need a lawyer for a DUI case in Sacramento?
If you are facing a DUI charge in California seek assistance as soon as possible. The penalties are harsh and the charge may stay on your driving record. Contact Tower Legal Group today to have an experienced DUI lawyer fight for your case. We have been successful in many cases and have gotten many charges dismissed and reduced. See how we may be able to help you!
Trackback from your site.