Tower Legal Group has the California Sex Abuse Attorneys and Lawyers to help litigate your case in California Civil Courts.  Sex Abuse can happen in many venues, such as workplace sex abuse, sexual assault, school sex abuse, high school sex abuse, elementary school sex abuse, college sex abuse, nightclub sex abuse, medical provider sex abuse (doctor office assault) and even landlord tenant sex abuse which occurs in housing.


In California, the Civil Code, such as Civil Code 51, make sex abuse unlawful in the workplace and places of business.  Additionally, the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) prohibits sexual abuse in the workplace and housing arrangements.


In California, the Civil Code also prohibits sex abuse in professional relationships, such as doctor-patient, realtor-client, attorney-client, landlord-tenant, etc, etc.

California AB 218

AB-218: WHAT IT MEANS FOR SURVIVORS OF SEX ABUSE and statute of limitations

On October 11, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB-218 into law. Effective January 1st, 2020, this bill gives survivors of child sex abuse a second chance at compensation from their abusers.

If you or a loved one is a survivor of sexual abuse as a child, and you have thus far been unable to pursue compensation, it may be worthwhile to consult a dedicated California child sexual abuse lawyer now. AB-218 may enable you to pursue the compensation and justice you deserve.

What is AB-218?

AB-218 is a state bill that modifies the statute of limitations for those who were sexually abused as children in California. Recent reports have uncovered a history of rampant sexual abuse in numerous well-known organizations, often dating back decades. This bill allows those who may be outside the statute of limitations to speak out their abuser in court by obtain compensation and closure for their life-altering damages.

What Are the Current Statute of Limitations?

The current statute of limitations for child sex abuse survivors are as follows:

  • Eight years after the age of majority (18 years old), or
  • Within three years of the date of discovery – the date you discovered that the cause of your psychological injury/illness that occurred after the age of majority was caused by sexual abuse.

The date of discovery is an effective way to extend the statute of limitations for survivors. The clock for statute of limitations starts only when a psychological injury or illness is officially diagnosed as a direct result of past abuse – giving those who have been impacted more time to pursue compensation.

How Does AB-218 Change the Statute of Limitations?

Effective January 1st, 2020, AB-218 extends the statute of limitations for survivors of child sex abuse.

  • Survivors now have 22 years from the age of majority to pursue recovery of damages.
  • Survivors now have five years from the date of discovery, up from three years.

Who Can Pursue Damages?

Anyone in California who is a survivor of sexual abuse as a child is eligible to file a claim under AB-218. This includes anybody who is a survivor of:

  • Clergy abuse
  • School abuse
  • Youth sports abuse
  • Youth organization abuse

Thanks to the new three-year open window, everyone is eligible to file a civil claim, regardless of when the abuse occurred.

Tower Legal Group Attorneys are experienced in litigating various Sex Abuse claims throughout California.  Contact our attorneys for a no-cost consultation immediately after experiencing sex abuse.